General Election: 3 SMCs and 1 new GRC, Latest Singapore News - The New Paper

General Election: 3 SMCs and 1 new GRC

This article is more than 12 months old

Voters, take note.

The coming General Election (GE) will reintroduce three Single Member Constituencies (SMCs), namely Bukit Batok Fengshan and MacPherson.

A new Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) Marsiling-Yew Tee will also be featured.

The report from the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC) out on Friday (July 24) saw SMC numbers increasing from 12 to 13.

All three SMCs are familiar names, previously existing as SMCs in GEs prior to 2011.

But Joo Chiat and Whampoa SMCs are gone, having been merged into other GRCs.


Jalan Besar GRC has also been reintroduced while Moulmein-Kallang GRC is gone.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had asked the committee to have at least 12 SMCs and to reduce the average GRC size below five.



The Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC) has submitted its report. When I appointed the Committee two months...

Posted by Lee Hsien Loong on Friday, July 24, 2015


He wrote on Facebook:

"When I appointed the Committee two months ago, I asked it to redraw the constituency boundaries, to have smaller Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs), and at least 12 Single Member Constituencies (SMCs). The Committee was also to take into account population shifts and new towns that have come up.

They have done so. They have added one SMC and one GRC, giving a total of 13 SMCs and 16 GRCs."

Here are the districts at a glance:


1) Bukit Batok
2) Bukit Panjang
3) Fengshan
4) Hong Kah North
5) Hougang
6) MacPherson
7) Mountbatten
8) Pioneer
9) Potong Pasir
10) Punggol East
11) Radin Mas
12) Sengkang West
13) Yuhua

4-Member of Parliament (MP) GRCs:

1) Chua Chu Kang
2) East Coast
3) Holland-Bukit Timah
4) Jalan Besar
5) Marsiling-Yew Tee
6) West Coast

5-MP GRCs:

1) Aljunied
2) Bishan-Toa Payoh
3) Jurong
4) Marine Parade
5) Nee Soon
6) Sembawang
7) Tampines
8) Tanjong Pagar

​6-MP GRCs:

1) Ang Mo Kio
2) Pasir Ris-Punggol

Singapore ElectionsUncategorisedGRCLee Hsien Loongelection