World Cup: What’s next for teams in the round of 16?, Latest Football News - The New Paper

World Cup: What’s next for teams in the round of 16?

With the World Cup knockout phase kicking off on Saturda night, here is an overview of the teams which have advanced to the last 16 in Qatar,

How does the knockout stage at World Cup 2022 work?   

In the knockout stage the teams will play each other once, with the winning team going to the next round. There are four rounds - round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final, which will take place on Dec 18.

There is also a third-place play-off between the losers of the semi-finals.

If the scores are equal at the end of normal playing time, extra time is played for two periods of 15 minutes each. If the score is still tied, this is followed by a penalty shoot-out to determine the winners.

Which teams have qualified for the knockout stage?   

Group A

The Netherlands secured a place in the last 16 with victories over Senegal and hosts Qatar, topping Group A despite a 1-1 draw with Ecuador.

Senegal, the reigning African champions, started the World Cup with a loss to the Netherlands, but they turned their fortunes with a 3-1 win over hosts Qatar and a decisive 2-1 win over Ecuador.

Group B

England punched their ticket to the knockout phase as top of Group B with seven points, following emphatic victories against Wales and Iran and a goal-less draw with the United States.

The United States qualified as runners-up of Group B after a 1-0 victory over Iran in a match overshadowed by political tension, following draws with Wales and England.

Group C

Argentina clawed back the top spot in Group C with wins over Mexico and Poland after a shocking loss in the opener against Saudi Arabia. They will next face Australia on Saturday (Sunday, 3am, Singapore time).

Poland clinched a spot in the last 16 as runners-up of Group C after a win over Saudi Arabia, a draw with Mexico and the loss to Argentina. They meet France on Sunday.

Group D

Reigning champions France delivered on expectations and became the first team to qualify for the last 16 with consecutive Group D wins over Australia and Denmark, followed by a 1-0 loss to Tunisia.

Australia claimed a spot in the last 16 as Group D runners-up with six points from wins over Tunisia and Denmark. They go on to face Argentina.

Group E

Japan surged into the last 16 as the unlikely winners of Group E after the Samurai Blue staged two stunning comeback wins over Germany and Spain, losing only to Costa Rica. They will face Croatia on Monday.

Spain clinched a spot in the last 16 with a blowout against Costa Rica, followed by a draw with Germany and a loss to Japan. They will meet Morocco on Tuesday.

Group F

Morocco topped Group F with wins over Canada and Belgium, following a goalless draw with Croatia, and will play against Spain on Tuesday.

Croatia joined the last 16 after two goalless draws with Morocco and Belgium and a 4-1 victory over Canada.

Group G

Brazil booked their ticket for the knockout stage with back-to-back wins against Switzerland and Serbia, followed by a 1-0 loss to Cameroon. They will face South Korea.

Switzerland secured the runners-up spot in Group G with a 3-2 win over Serbia and a victory over Cameroon, and will go on to play Portugal on Tuesday (Wednesday, 3am, Singapore time).

Group H

Portugal finished Group H losing to South Korea but held on to their top spot to face Switzerland.

South Korea clinched entry to the knockout stage with a last-gasp win over already-qualified Portugal, following a goal-less draw with Uruguay and a loss to Ghana.

What is the schedule for the knockout stage?   

Dec 3 Netherlands v United States (11pm, Singapore time)
Dec 4 Argentina v Australia (3am)
Dec 4 France v Poland (11pm)
Dec 5 England v Senegal (3am)
Dec 5 Japan v Croatia (11pm)
Dec 6 Brazil v South Korea (3am)
Dec 6 Morocco v Spain (11pm)
Dec 7 Portugal v Switzerland (3am)

Which teams are out of the World Cup?   

Group A: Ecuador and Qatar
Group B: Iran and Wales
Group C: Mexico and Saudi Arabia
Group D: Tunisia and Denmark
Group E: Germany and Costa Rica
Group F: Belgium and Canada
Group G: Cameroon and Serbia
Group H: Uruguay and Ghana

World Cup 2022World Cup qualifiersWORLD CUP FOOTBALLFootball